Active School Week - 3rd/4th Class History Walk June 2017
As part of Active School Week, Ms Kildea's 3rd/4th Class went on a walk to the local church and its environs. This was a walk with a difference as the pupils discovered the history of Urbleshanny Chapel and seeing their locality in a new way. Fr James Murphy PP, Drumshevera oversaw the building of Urbleshanny Chapel in 1785, some 232 years ago. It was used as a Pro-Cathedral when Dr. Murphy became Bishop of Clogher in 1801. It was rebuilt from 1832 -1835 and a survey from that period described the building as made from plain stone with two towers on either side and the interior had two staircases leading to the galleries. It was not floored and only partially filled with pews. The church was renovated again in 1882 and then in 1947 the galleries were removed. In 1993, under the direction of the late Canon Gilsenan, the church was restored to its original plan and the galleries reinstalled. Urbleshanny Chapel is quite unique in that a parochial house was added to the church in 1847 for the PP until a parochial house was built in the 1930's in Stracunnion. The original house adjoining the church remains in situ and is now the sacristy. The pupils saw the stones where once the PP's stables were situated and then walked the 'Mass Pad' that the villagers used for several centuries to attend mass. The walk was concluded by walking through the wonderful Wildlife Park/Millenium Garden which links the 'Mass Pad' to the school grounds.